Transit Advisory Board

City of Albuquerque

Chair and Vice Chair:	Past Chairs:	Current board members:		
Brendan Miller	Cristen Conley	Lucy Birbiglia	Israel Chavez	Rachel Hertzman
Harris Balkin	Nancy JonesFrancis	Nancy JonesFrancis	Dave Kesner	Orville Pratt
	Dave Kesner	Patricia Salisbury	Bob Tilley	Geoff Zehnder
	Lucy Birbiglia			
	Dr. Susan Richardson			

February 14, 2019

The Honorable Tim Keller, Mayor	Liz Carter, Asst. Transit Dir. MRCOG	
Sarita Nair, Chief Administrative Officer	Councilor Ken Sanchez	
Lawrence Rael, Chief Operating Officer	Councilor Isaac Benton	
Bernie Toon, Transit Director	Councilor Klarissa Peña	
David Campbell, Planning Director	Councilor Brad Winter	
•	Councilor Cynthia Borrego	
Commissioner Debbie O'Malley	Councilor Pat Davis	
Commissioner Steven Michael Quezada	Councilor Diane G. Gibson	

Commissioner Steven Michael Quezada
Commissioner Maggie Hart Stebbins
Commissioner Lonnie C. Talbert
Commissioner James Smith
Councilor Diane G. Gibson
Councilor Trudy E. Jones
Councilor Don Harris

Tom Menicucci, Complete Streets Project

Dear Mayor Keller, Director Toon, Commissioners, Councilors, and Civic Leaders:

We are writing to you to inform you of issues raised by the citizens of Albuquerque, Transit Advisory Board (TAB) members, and information presented by speakers in our November and December 2018, and January 2019 meetings.

Concerns raised by riders in these meetings include:

- Concerns regarding lack of service on 2nd St. between Griegos and Montano, which affects the Juvenile Detention Center.
- A suggestion that the City of Albuquerque observe Transit Equity Day on February 4th, 2019. The TAB notes that the City made all ABQ Ride buses fare-free on this day, which we appreciate.

Concerns raised by TAB members include:

- Suggestion to re-route the 8 Menaul to serve 12th St. seven days a week.
- Suggestion to add all day service on Route 12 Constitution between Downtown and Uptown and the 34 San Pedro between Uptown and the VA Hospital.
- Need for improvements to bus routes in other parts of the City, even though the ART start date has been delayed.
- Need for improved frequency and hours of operation on Route 790 Blue Line, adding park-and-ride lots, and adding density to increase ridership.
- Need for more late-night service
- It has come to our attention that the City is considering the use of ART stations for "marathons or charity races, art installations, local pop-up business days, and street music," according to an *Albuquerque Journal* article dated December 12th, 2018. The article, however, makes no mention

of this originating from a suggestion of Transit Advisory Board members in a letter to the Mayor's Office dated November 16th, 2018. However, we are excited at the possibility of this being implemented and are still available to contribute our voluntary time and efforts to the ultimate success of ART.

If you would like more information regarding any of the issues raised, please do not hesitate to contact me or any other TAB members. The email address of our current Chair, Brendan Miller, is miller.br0115@gmail.com. The email address of our current vice-chair, Harris Balkin is habbalkin@gmail.com. Although TAB members are at-large appointments, our board members reside in the following City Council districts:

Israel Chavez, Nancy JonesFrancis, Dave Kesner, and Patricia Salisbury	District 2
Harris Balkin	District 4
Brendan Miller	District 5
Geoff Zehnder	District 6
Rachel Hertzman, and Orville Pratt	District 7

Thank you for all the work you do. Please join us in supporting public transportation in our community!

Sincerely,

Brendan Miller, Chair

Brendon Miller

Harris Balkin, Vice Chair

City of Albuquerque Transit Advisory Board

cc: TAB Members